Kristina's Kid Reviews (KKR)

Kid Reviews By Child Author Kristina Cardoza

Who was Rosa Parks? by Yona Zeldis McDonough

on February 26, 2013

SUMMARY:

Who Was Rosa Parks? by Yona Zeldis McDonough is a great African-American biography for all ages! Although Rosa Parks was not born in slavery days, she still made a large impact on society. She grew up in Pine Level, Alabama and moved to Montgomery, Alabama when she was eleven. After marrying Raymond Parks at eighteen, she started working at the NAACP. Rosa’s most well-known incident is when she got arrested just for keeping her seat on the bus, but that isn’t all she did–read the book to find out more!


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

“As a student at Vassar College, I never once took a writing course. I was not accepted into the poetry workshop I applied to, so I avoided all other writing classes, and instead focused on literature, language and art history, which was my declared major. I was so taken with the field that I decided to pursue my studies on a graduate level. I enrolled in a PhD program at Columbia University where I have to confess that I was miserable. I didn’t like the teachers, the students or the classes. I found graduate school the antithesis of undergraduate education; while the latter encouraged experimentation, growth, expansion, the former seemed to demand a kind of narrowing of focus and a rigidity that was simply at odds with my soul. It was like business school without the reward of a well-paying job at the end.” (piece of Yona Zeldis Mc Donough’s biogragraphy @ http://www.yonazeldismcdonough.com/content/index.php/about-yona/)

 

MY OPINION:

I really like how this book is nonfiction and it’s interesting too! Most nonfiction books don’t really seem that interesting to me, but this book was more like a story. This series is great for all ages! I also thought that some of the parts of the book were kind of sad, but not too sad for younger children to handle. I can’t wait to read more of the “Who Was” series–plus I love learning about black history!

 

Who was Rosa Parks? Well, now I know. 🙂

★ 4/5 stars!

 

Leave a Reply

